Skip to content

Flowers for Mothers’ Day

May 14, 2017

 

Flowers for Mothers’ Day

 

Whether you place flowers in the hands of your mother, send flowers to her across the miles, or put flowers at the grave of a mother–flowers have, through the decades, blossomed into a lovely part of this special holiday called Mothers’ Day.  Thinking of all of the floral gifts given on this day, I am sharing with you a floral bouquet of words in the form of an abecedarian which I posted on Wordwalk in March of 2013 (for Easter).  Since this 26-line poem mentions numerous flowers, my mother, my Aunt Zita and my other aunts, my sister, and my maternal grandmother–I thought re-posting this blog on Mothers’ Day would be appropriate.

 

As you will notice, the abecedarian includes 26 lines—one for each letter of the alphabet—in alphabetical order.  I chose to write my abecedarian in six quatrains with the a-b-b-a rhyme scheme, followed by one couplet.

 

 

Floral Abecedarian

 

by Alice Jane-Marie Massa

 

 

Arrangements of floral memories blossom in my mind.

Beautiful Bouquets at weddings were thrown to happy hands.

Chrysanthemums channel back to high school homecoming and marching bands.

Daffodils, in perky and steadfast fashion, disseminate hope that winter will soon unwind.

 

Easter lilies bud forth with bunnies, eggs, and prayer.

Forget-me-nots remind me to hold dear all of our family gardens.

Gladioli generated my first flower garden, and geraniums renewed Little Edens.

Hyacinths were blue and pink presents that Dad gave my sister and me—a fragrant flair.

 

Irises of many colors and with too many bees grew along our yard’s east section.

Jonquils grace the magenta vase that my mother purchase at the 1933 World’s Fair.

Kitchen window sill at home balanced children’s tiny bouquets beyond compare.

Lilies-of-the-valley hugged tightly against our Hoosier home’s foundation.

 

Marigolds of yellow, orange, and gold most remind me of my mother—another Mary.

Nosegays were grasped by a young bridesmaid, waiting to become a bride.

Orchids of cream and lapis make a favorite corsage to wear with pride.

Peonies, the most common among all my aunts, made a flouncy boundary.

 

Queen Anne’s Lace reminds us of how one different floret can stand tall among the rest.

Roses, that once graced funerals, were pressed into blessed and holy rosary beads.

Snowflake mums and red carnations burst forth with holiday cheer and good deeds.

Tulips of numerous types trailed along the sidewalk of Aunt Zita’s restaurant—the best.

 

Umbrellas reign for all the rains and rainbows that bring life to all our cherished flowers.

Violets snatched from a roadside were transplanted beside our water pump’s overflow.

Water lilies floated in the pond of Roselawn Cemetery—just for show.

Xerophytes do grow where there is no rain for hours and hours.

 

Youthful and elderly memories of family gardens abound:

zinnias were the flowers that Grandma nurtured near the Italian bakery of our hometown.

 

 

On this Mothers’ Day of 2017,

Mother Nature has bestowed on the mothers of Milwaukee

a beautifully sunny day (although a cool 52 degrees by the lake).

Hoping you are enjoying a sunny, heart-warming Mothers’ Day,

Alice and Leader Dog Willow

 

May 14, 2017, Sunday

 

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Alice. What a colorful arrangement for a special day. By the way, the zinnias are my favorite. Happy day to you and Lady Willow. dp

    Sent from my wicked smart Windows 10 machine

  2. Fran Rayce permalink

    Alice,

    What beautiful gardens you created in my mind with this colorful poem. I forwarded it on to my grand daughter Keelin, the family poetry writer, for inspiration, because of the unique presentation.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Love, Fran

    • Fran–How nice to hear that you are forwarding this abecedarian to your granddaughter Keelin! Thanks for reading my post on this Mothers’ Day and taking the time to comment.

      Have a good week–Alice

  3. Sue McKendry permalink

    Alice–I enjoyed your post about the gifts from your mother, but this abecedarian poem with the flowers is so nice–especially since some are blooming right now, some are finished, and some are on their way! My favorite, the hyacinths, are done, and just in time the lilacs are in full bloom with a scent only second to the hyacinths. And yes, we have lilies of the valley and they are just opening and spreading their delicate scent. As an un-mother, I delighted in this poem, since some of my unused maternal instincts are showered on gardens, and pets, or course!–Sue

    • Sue–Just your mention of your hyacinths, lilacs, and lily-of-the-valley bring these fragrances to my mind–or my nose. I am so glad to hear that you like the “Floral Abecedarian.” While my dozen yellow tulips are losing petals after three weeks, the pink tulips have just blossomed. Also, I, for the first time, am trying a lavender plant which enjoyed this evening’s rain.

      Happy gardening! Alice and Willow

  4. mfanyo permalink

    Thanks for reposting the abecedarian, Alice. In my home I have a print copy displayed in a frame, so that I can enjoy the colorful spring images of this poem all through the year.
    Love to you and Willow,
    Mary

    • Mary–How nice to think of one of my poems as being framed! Although using hyacinths for the “H” line was my first choice, I did want to remember also the hollyhocks that grew on the east side of the shanty (once a summer kitchen) in the back of our Blanford home in Indiana.

      Enjoy your flowers of a Colorado spring–Alice and Willow

Leave a Reply

